BJP wins three MLC seats in UP, loses Varanasi to SP candidate – india information

The ruling Bharatiya Janata Get together gained three of the six Uttar Pradesh Legislative Council seats for which ends had been introduced on Friday.

Whereas the BJP managed to finish the decades-long dominance of eight-time MLC Om Prakash Sharma in Meerut, it completed within the third place in Varanasi the place Samajwadi Get together’s Lal Bihari Yadav gained.

BJP’s Umesh Dwivedi gained the Lucknow division lecturers’ seat, Shrichand Sharma the Meerut seat and Hari Singh Dhillon the Bareilly-Moradabad seat, the outcomes confirmed.

Akash Agrawal and Dhruv Kumar Tripathi, each unbiased candidates, gained the Agra and Gorakhpur lecturers’ seats, respectively.

That is first time that the BJP contested the Vidhan Parishad polls to the lecturers’ constituencies.

The biennial elections to all of the 11 seats had been held on December 1 after hectic campaigning by candidates and their events. A complete of 199 candidates had been within the fray.

The counting for the 11 seats began on Thursday and the outcomes of the remaining are prone to be introduced by Saturday, officers mentioned.

The BJP, SP, Congress and lecturers’ associations contested the polls.

Of the 11 seats, 5 are graduates’ constituencies and 6 lecturers’ constituencies.

The time period of workplace of the MLCs from these constituencies expired on Might 6.

(With company inputs)

Supply hyperlink

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Leave a comment
scroll to top