From 2005 to 2020: Rise and fall of Nitish Kumar’s JD(U) in state elections – bihar election

2020/11 11 12:11

Nitish Kumar is ready to take oath because the chief minister of Bihar for a report seventh time even after his social gathering, Janata Dal (United), slipped to the third place within the newest Meeting election outcomes. Kumar took oath as Bihar chief minister for the primary time in 2000, however the journey was short-lived. He resigned inside days because the Nationwide Democratic Alliance (NDA) didn’t have the numbers to show majority in a 324-member home.

Later in 2005, Kumar took oath as Bihar’s CM for the second time after JD(U) received 88 seats out of 139 contested and its ally, the Bharatiya Janata Get together (BJP), received 55 out of 102 seats contested, crusing by way of the bulk mark of 122 in a curtailed 243-member home because of the formation of Jharkhand. He efficiently accomplished his five-year time period and went into the 2010 meeting elections unscathed.

Click on right here for full protection of Bihar Meeting Election 2020

NDA bought a landslide majority in 2010 Meeting elections after a exceptional five-year rule which additionally helped Kumar earn the title of ‘Sushasan Babu’. The ruling alliance received a whopping 206 Meeting seats in a 243-member robust home. JD(U) clinched 115 seats out of 141 contested, whereas BJP grabbed 91 out of 102 seats contested. The huge mandate and the best variety of meeting seats received by the JD(U) until date supplied Nitish Kumar to finish one other five-year time period with none problem, however the 2014 Lok Sabha elections made all of the distinction.

Nitish Kumar walked out of NDA and ended a 17-year-old alliance with the BJP in 2013 after Narendra Modi was appointed because the Chairman of BJP’s Lok Sabha election marketing campaign committee. Since then, the change has been sinusoidal in Bihar’s political situation. After 2014 normal election outcomes have been introduced, Kumar resigned as Chief Minister, taking the “ethical duty” for the defeat as JD(U) bought solely two Lok Sabha seats out of 40.

Jitan Ram Manjhi, a detailed confidant of Nitish Kumar and the then SC/ST welfare minister in Bihar authorities, was elected as the following chief minister, however that too didn’t final lengthy. Manjhi got here beneath extreme public criticism for a few of his statements and ran out of political favour after he began difficult the authority of Kumar throughout the social gathering.

Kumar was re-elected because the chief of legislature social gathering and Manjhi was faraway from the social gathering, stating indiscipline and collaborating with the BJP after he really useful the dissolution of Bihar meeting at a cupboard assembly. The 2015 Bihar meeting elections introduced one other paradigm shift in Bihar politics as Kumar shaped ‘Mahagathbandhan’ (Grand Alliance) with the Rashtriya Janata Dal (RJD) and Congress.

Mahagathbandhan restricted the NDA to mere 58 seats out of 243, however Kumar’s JD(U) was pushed to the second place as RJD emerged as the only largest social gathering. JD(U) and RJD contested at 101 seats every and the latter received a formidable 80 seats within the 2015 Bihar Meeting elections. JD(U) grabbed 71 seats however Kumar remained the chief of the Grand Alliance and took oath as CM for the fifth time.

However the ever-changing dynamics of Bihar took one other flip with Kumar breaking out of the Mahagathbandhan. Kumar supported the selections like demonetization and GST, and resigned as Chief Minister stating corruption fees towards the then Deputy Chief Minister Tejashwi Yadav, and shaped the federal government once more with the BJP.

In 2020 elections, NDA determined to incorporate smaller regional events like Hindustani Awam Morcha (Secular) and Vikassheel Insaan Get together (VIP), as Kumar confronted a large anti-incumbency of 15 years. In line with the ultimate outcomes launched by the Election Fee of India, NDA has crossed the magic determine of 122-mark to kind the federal government, out of which JD(U) has received 43 seats and BJP received 74 seats. HAM(S) and VIP shared four seats every, serving to the tally to achieve 125.

Supply hyperlink


Leave a Reply

Welcome (Toggle)