Counting begins for Bihar polls

2020/11 10 03:11

Counting of votes received beneath manner Tuesday morning for the three-phase Bihar meeting elections which will herald a brand new period in state politics, with exit polls predicting a victory for the RJD-led Grand Alliance.

The train will determine the electoral destiny of over three,700 candidates who’re within the race to win the 243 seats of the state meeting.

Counting began at eight am at 55 centres unfold throughout 38 districts amid tight safety and precautions to keep away from the unfold of COVID-19 pandemic throughout the course of. Over 57 per cent of about 7.30 crore electors have exercised their franchise in what’s the first main election within the nation for the reason that onset of the pandemic.

Votes are additionally being concurrently counted for the Valmiki Nagar Lok Sabha by-poll, which was necessitated by the loss of life of JD(U) MP Baidyanath Mahto.

Officers stated the traits and outcomes may be delayed a bit this time because the variety of polling stations have been raised from 72,723 earlier to 1,06,515, a rise of 46.5 per cent, to make sure adherence to social distancing measures in view of the pandemic.

A complete of three,733 candidates are within the fray, together with 371 ladies and a transgender.

Most exit polls have predicted a rout for the ruling JD(U)-BJP mix and a convincing victory for the Grand Alliance (Mahagathbandhan) led by RJD’s 31-year-old chief ministerial candidate Tejashwi Yadav.

In keeping with Chief Electoral Officer H R Srinavasa, central armed police forces have been deployed on the robust rooms, the place the EVMs have been saved for the reason that completion of voting, and the halls the place these are being unsealed now.

Of the state’s 243 meeting constituencies, among the many most keenly watched will clearly be Raghopur in Vaishali district from the place Tejashwi Yadav is in search of re-election.

Raghopur has been prior to now represented by his dad and mom Lalu Prasad and Rabri Devi, each former chief ministers.

Nitish Kumar is a member of the state’s legislative council and has not contested the meeting election.

Tejashwi’s elder brother Tej Pratap Yadav is contesting from Hasanpur in Samastipur district.

Tuesday’s counting may also determine the political destiny of practically a dozen of ministers.

Outstanding amongst them are Nand Kishore Yadav (Patna Sahib), Pramod Kumar (Motihari), Rana Randhir (Madhuban), Suresh Sharma (Muzaffarpur), Shrawan Kumar (Nalanda), Jai Kumar Singh (Dinara) and Krishnanandan Prasad Verma (Jehanabad).

Prohibitory orders are in place exterior the counting centres to forestall individuals from gathering in giant numbers, officers stated.

Supply hyperlink


Leave a Reply

Welcome (Toggle)