Bihar meeting election 2020: BJP stronghold Purnia to witness direct face-off with Congress – india information

2020/11 06 10:11

Purnia meeting constituency, in Bihar’s Purnia district, is amongst 78 meeting constituencies which is able to go to polls within the third and closing section of the continuing Bihar meeting elections, on November 7.

This meeting seat comes beneath a parliamentary constituency with which it additionally shares its identify. A Bharatiya Janata Social gathering (BJP) stronghold since 2000, Purnia’s incumbent MLA is BJP’s Vijay Kumar Khemka whereas the Lok Sabha MP from the parliamentary constituency is Santosh Kumar Kushwaha of Bihar chief minister Nitish Kumar’s Janata Dal(United), an ally of the BJP.

Click on right here for full Bihar meeting election 2020 protection

Within the 2015 meeting polls, Khemka emerged victorious over Congress’ Indu Sinha by 32,815 votes. A complete of 186,911 voters forged their votes from this constituency out of 283,483 eligible to vote. Of those, Khemka received 92,020 or 49.26% votes, whereas Sinha secured 59,205 or 31.70% votes.

For the continuing elections, Khemka and Sinha are as soon as once more in competition as they’ve been fielded by their respective events but once more. This time, a complete of 312,508 folks from this constituency are eligible to vote. The break-up of eligible voters is as follows: 163,158 males, 149,341 females and 9 from the third gender.

Additionally Learn | Bihar meeting election 2020: Will Afaque Alam of Congress win Kasba for third straight time period?

The three-phase Bihar meeting polls commenced on October 28, whereas second section polling happened on November three. Bihar has a complete of 243 meeting constituencies; 71 went to polls within the first section and 94 within the second.

Counting of votes and end result declaration is scheduled to happen on November 10.

Supply hyperlink


Leave a Reply

Welcome (Toggle)