Maharashtra: Inner tussle in Congress delays legislative council nominations – india information

2020/11 04 07:11

A tussle amongst senior Congress leaders over a Dalit candidate has held again the celebration’s record for nominations to the legislative council in Maharashtra, individuals aware of the event stated.

There are 12 vacancies within the Maharashtra legislative council, the higher home within the state legislature, from the governor’s quota and every constituent of the ruling Maha Vikas Aghadi (MVA) — the Shiv Sena, the Nationalist Congress Occasion (NCP) and the Congress – will probably be nominating 4 candidates every.

Beneath Article 171 of the Structure, the Governor can nominate to the legislative council members having particular information or sensible expertise in literature, science, artwork, cooperative motion and social service.

Whereas the Shiv Sena and the NCP have finalised their respective lists, the Congress continues to be struggling to present closing form to its set of nominations and delayed the nominations.

Additionally learn | Rahul Gandhi targets PM Modi, Bihar CM Nitish Kumar over ‘poor improvement’ in Bihar

The Congress has finalised its three names – Rajni Patil, Sachin Sawant and Muzaffar Hussain – and is now attempting to resolve its inside tussle over the fourth seat.

A Congress functionary stated the celebration excessive command had vetoed the suggestions of the state unit after a piece of Dalit leaders, together with Maharashtra vitality minister Nitin Raut, objected to the short-listing of Anirudha Dhonduji Wankar, an artist who contested the final yr’s meeting elections from Chandrapur constituency as a candidate of the Prakash Ambedkar-led Vanchit Bahujan Aghadi (VBA).

The Dalit leaders have urged the Congress excessive command to rethink the choice to appoint him to the legislative council since he was an “outsider” and had “continuously switched sides” claiming that he was within the Bahujan Samaj Occasion (BSP) earlier than becoming a member of the VBA.

The infuriated Dalit leaders have insisted that celebration loyalists solely must be given the nomination and in addition threatened to resign if their considerations are ignored.

The functionary additional stated Wankar’s nomination is being pushed by former Maharashtra chief minister Ashok Chavan whereas the celebration’s Scheduled Caste division, headed by Raut, had advised the names of Rajendra Karwade and Ramesh Bagwe.

Congress president Sonia Gandhi has taken the suggestions from celebration in-charge HK Patil and state unit chief Balasaheb Thorat and requested them to additionally counsel few different names, he added.

Whereas the Shiv Sena is claimed to have nominated actor-turned-politician Urmila Matondkar, who stop the Congress final yr after dropping the 2019 Lok Sabha elections from Mumbai North, as certainly one of its candidates, the NCP has really helpful the names of former Bharatiya Janata Occasion (BJP) chief Eknath Khadse, Dalit singer Anand Shinde, Dhangar chief Yashpal Bhinge and Raju Shetti, the pinnacle of the Swabhimani Shetkari Sanghatana, a farmers’ organisation.

Supply hyperlink


Leave a Reply

Welcome (Toggle)